Happy Retirement, Captain!!

I have a fun card to share today. This card is for a good friend who is retiring from the police force. I wanted to make something that would be a little more than just your ordinary retirement card, so this is what I came up with.

jim's cardI found a nice tutorial on how to make these fun shirt cards HERE. These would also make some nice Father’s Day cards too. It was really easy to put together and I love the way it turned out!

I used a Night of Navy card base and a layer of Night of Navy cut just slightly smaller than the card base. I cut the two pockets by cutting a rectangle and then just cutting the point on the one end and folding that end over to create the pocket. I really don’t have dimensions for this (unfortunately), I just kind of adjusted it until I was happy with the size. I just cut the tie using two piece of cardstock, one for the “knot” and one for the long “tie” piece. Again, I just played around with it until I got the right size and shape. I just used my paper cutter to cut the angles, and attached it to the card with stampin’ dimensionals.

I used the tutorial to get the right dimensions for the collar and added some brads for some extra detail, and some stampin’ dimensionals under the folded area to give it some dimension.

Jim's card2I used Gold Foil Sheets (#132622) for the badge and just cut it out with my paper snips. I drew a badge on the back of the Gold Foil as a guide to cut it out. Then I added a small 1/2″ Circle (#119869) punched out of Gold Foil paper and a small Scalloped Circle cut out with the Flower Fair Framelits ((#133731) and layered those on the badge to make it have a better “Badge” look.

I hope this card will put a smile on his face, but I’m sure the fact that he is retiring will REALLY put the smile on his face! Congrats to you, Captain!!

Thanks for stopping by today, and Happy Stampin’ to you!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Retirement, Captain!!

  1. Kerry says:

    love it! It is perfect for my brothers retirement from the police force!

Leave a Reply

