A Thursday Edition of Technique Tuesday- Watercolor Stamping

I have been a bit absent from the blog lately, and the cards are piling up to share. So, today I wanted to share another technique that I did at my stamp club meetings.

Watercoloring is pretty popular these days, in fact, there is a whole section in the new catalog that is called Artistic Expression, and features many stamp sets, ideas, and tips that center around Watercoloring.

I am sharing one type of watercoloring with this technique today.                                         Watercolor Stamping: Create watercolored images using ink, stamps, an aqua painter, or a Stampin’ Spritzer.                                                                                               Apply ink to a stamp (solid stamps work best, in this case) and then spritz water directly on the stamp OR the paper (watercolor paper works best, however you can use a neutral cardstock too). Stamp the image and let the water create the watercolored look. Let the paper dry or use a heat tool to speed up the process.                                                                  *You can re-ink the stamp and stamp directly over your image, if you want to adjust the look.                                                                                                                                                      *You can also use an aqua painter to move or blur the ink to create a watercolored look. Stamp an image and then apply water by painting over the image to create the soft look you want. This method works best if you apply the water right after stamping.

Watercolor stamping 2This card was inspired by a card that I saw HERE by Aimee Cretsinger. I used a Island Indigo card base and a layer of Watercolor paper (p.148, #122959). I stamped the image from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.123, #130514 (wood) #130517 (clear), in Real Red, Pumpkin Pie, Daffodil Delight, Old Olive, Island Indigo, and Rich Razzleberry ink.  I actually inked up the stamp, spritzed the inked stamp with water from my Stampin’ Spritzer (p.163, #126185), and stamped on the watercolor paper. This blurred the ink and really made a neat effect. You could also spritz the watercolor paper a bit first too, and that would also make the ink run and blurr a bit.

Then, I added 3 butterflies (Real Red, Daffodil Delight, and Island Indigo) punched out with the Bitty Butterfly and Elegant Butterfly punches (p.166, #129406 & #127526).  I added a Candy Dot (p.161, #130931) to each butterfly, for a little extra embellishment. Finally, I added the “hi” which was cut from the Labels Flip Card Thinlits (retired).

Watercolor stamping 1This card features a retired stamp set, Too Kind (retired), and I was inspired by THIS CARD. I used a Perfect Plum card base and card layer. I added a piece of Watercolor paper and cut it out with the Ovals Collection Framelits (p.173, #129381). I used the Occasions Paper Piercing Template (retired) to add the paper pierced oval around the watercolor paper. I embossed the sentiment from the Sheltering Tree stamp set (p.89, #137163) with White embossing powder in the lower right corner of the card.

I used the same watercoloring process, as the card above. I inked up the stamps, spritzed with a little water, and stamped on the watercolor paper. I had also spritzed the watercolor paper, slightly, before stamping, to help blurr the image a bit more.

Watercolor stamping 3This card was CASED from Elizabeth Price.  I used a Naturals White (retired) card base and a Watercolor paper layer. I spritzed the watercolor paper with my Stampin’ Spritzer to moisten it slightly, then stamped the images from the Crazy About You stamp set (p.106, #138856 w, #138859 c, #137137 p) in Calypso Coral, Crushed Curry, and Pear Pizzazz ink.  I added the “happy” from the Hello You Thinlits (p.172, #137363), the banner with the sentiment from the Crazy About You stamp set, the flowers punched with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.166,#133787), and Venetian Crochet Trim (p.159, #134581).

Watercolor stamping-#2This is another version of that card in a slightly different color scheme. I replaced the Calypso Coral on the other card with  Bermuda Bay ink and cardstock, on this other card. I really like this color combination too!

Watercolor stamping-4This card was inspired by a card that was demonstrated at the Stampin’ Up Leadership Conference, that I attended this past February. Shelli Gardner made a card very similar to this and the watercolor effect really gives it a nice vintage look. I love that!!

I used a Naturals Ivory (retired) card base and cardstock layer. I spritzed the cardstock layer with water and stamped the images from the Painted Petals stamp set (retired). The cardstock does warp a little from the water, but it adds to the vintage look, in this case. BUT, that is the main reason for using Watercolor paper for this technique, it will not warp, like regular cardstock does.

I added some pearls, Venetian Crochet Trim, a piece of Paper Doily, and Sahara Sand Lace Trim (retired). Finally, I added the label from the Apothecary Accents Framelits (retired) stamped with the sentiment from the Painted Petals stamp set.

So, I hope you give this nice technique a try. Get out your Stampin’ Spritzer, some solid stamp sets, and PLAY!! Each card will be different depending on the amount of water on the paper or stamp. It really makes you feel like an artist and the cards are one of a kind!

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Occasions Catalog, Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Thursday Edition of Technique Tuesday- Watercolor Stamping

  1. Jeany says:

    Love your cards Michelle they are soo colourful. Thank you for sharing. Love Jeany UK

  2. StampinU says:

    Thanks, Jeany!! I really appreciate your comment. Hope you find a little inspiration from my blog.
    Miechelle

Leave a Reply

