Shaker Cards

I think I may have said (not promised!) that I would share some more Shaker Cards sometime in the near future. I posted a graduation card a while back HERE, and planned to share a few more Shaker Cards, AND I am finally gettting around to it!

Shaker Cards 2This is the card that I posted a while ago. It was a fun graduation card, and I loved the shaker part of it.

pp shaker cardI was inspired to make these Shaker Cards, after putting together this card, from one of my past Paper Pumpkin kits from Stampin’ Up. It had been a LONG time since I had made a Shaker Card, and this card made me think it would be a great card idea to share with my stamp clubs. This card was SOOO easy, since it was all included in the kit AND you basically just needed to follow the kit instructions and put it all together.

Shaker Cards 3This is a card that I came up with as another example of this fun Shaker Card idea. I used a Whisper White card base, a layer of Tangelo Twist cardstock, and a layer of Confetti Celebration DSP (retired).

I cut the window frame out of Whisper White cardstock using the Squares Collection Framelits (p.173, #130921). I added a piece of Window Sheet (p.148,#114323) to the opening of the frame and then attached some strips of Stampin’ Dimensionals (p.156,#104430) around the inside of the framed opening. I cut some small pieces of cardstock in coordinating colors and punched out some stars from Silver Glimmer paper (p.149, #135314) using the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.166, #133787). I placed these elements within the Stampin’ Dimesionals on the frame piece and attached another square of Confetti Celebrations DSP to the Stampin’ Dimensionals.

This creates the Shaker part of the card by containing all the little bits of cardstock and stars between the layers created by the framed piece, the Stampin’ Dimensionals, and the backing DSP piece.

Finally, I added some more Glimmer stars which were cut out with the Stars Collection Framelits (p.173, #133723) and a piece of Baker’s Twine (p.158) tied around one of the stars. The sentiment was from the Petite Pairs stamp set (p.99, #128706 w, #122497 c).

Shaker Cards 1This card features a retired stamp set, Cheerful Critters. I didn’t initially think I wanted to purchase this stamp set, but then I kept seeing all kinds of fun cards made with it, and I could not refuse it any longer. I love the little Critter images AND the fun words that go along with them. How can you not smile when you see, “I LIKE YOUR FACE!”.  Just too cute!

This card has a Bermuda Bay card base, which is embossed with the Stylish Stripes Embossing Folder (p.17, #132174). I added a Crushed Curry frame piece cut with the Squares Collections Framelits (p.173, #130921). I added some cardstock in coordinating colors which was punched out using the circles from the Owl Builder Punch (p.167, #118074), and some Stars in Gold Glimmer paper (p.149, #133719) punched out with the Confetti Stars Border Punch and the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.166, #135861 & #133787) to the inside of the framed area for the Shaker bits. I backed the Shaker portion of the card in a piece of Birthday Bash Specialty DSP (retired). I added a piece of Coastal Cabana Thick Baker’s Twine (retired) to the frame AND the Cheerful Critter to the front of the Window Sheet (p.148, #114323) on the Shaker portion of the card. Such a fun card….from the Critter, to the words, to the Shaker part of the card…just FUN!!

So, if you are looking for a FUN card idea and you want to make the recipient say “WOW”, you really should try a Shaker Card. They are the perfect cards to create that reaction, and they really don’t take too much effort. Punch out some little elements from all your left-over bits of cardstock and get Shakin’! Thanks for looking and see you again soon.

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

