Love those Cheerful Critters!!

Well, this post is a little late, since this stamp set is now retired, and no longer available in the catalog….bummer!  But, I just had to share a few cards that I made featuring this fun Cheerful Critters stamp set.

Cheerful Critters (retiring)This first card was CASED from Patty Bennett. I really liked how she made the fence from the Adventure Bound Paper Stack (retired) and then had the little Critter popping up from behind it!! Great idea. I used the Fringe Scissors (p.168,#133325) to cut the paper strip at the bottom of the card to create the grass effect (just as she did), and then added some little flowers with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (p.166, #133787) and put Candy Dots (p.161, #130934) in the centers of the flowers. Such a cute card….thanks, Patty, for the inspiration!

Cheerful Critters 2This card looks a bit like a cartoon drawing, and I love that! All in black and white, with an additional card layer in Smoky Slate, this card is simple but still lots of fun. I inked up two of the Critters without their signs and stamped those on either side of the Chick. I stamped the Chick again on another piece of white cardstock, and cut the sign out to add to the image on the card with stampin’ dimensionals. This adds some dimension to the card and gives it a little extra special touch of interest too.

Cheerful Critters 3This card was inspired from a card that I saw by Debra Currier. I used her basic card layout, but changed the color scheme. I used a Coastal Cabana card base, a Basic Black card layer, a Whisper White card layer, and a strip of Island Indigo cardstock. I used my Tiny Wave Stampin’ Trimmer Rotary Cutting Blade (p.169, #129409) on the Island Indigo strip for a nice little decorative edge.  I added some banners using the All Abloom Paper Stack (retired) and the Best Year Ever DSP (Sale-a-bration, retired). Finally, I added a piece of Coastal Cabana Thick Baker’s Twine (Sale-a-bration, retired) to  the card.  This is another simple card, that really just makes me smile.

double fold card 1

This last card is a Double Pocket Fold card. I wanted to try one of these cards again, since it had been many years since I had last made one. It is a fun card idea which creates two pockets and uses a single sheet of Designer Series Paper for the card base. It is all in the way that you fold the paper to create the card with the two pockets.  I will try and share those instructions sometime in a future post.

I used the retired DSP, Birthday Bash Specialty Designer Series Paper, for the card base and the banners on the front of the card.double fold card 2I used the Balloon Bash stamp set (retired) for the card insert in the front pocket.

double fold card 3I used the Hooray It’s Your Day stamp set (retired) for the sentiment on the inside of the card.

double fold card 4I used the Cheerful Critters stamp set (retired) for the insert in the inside pocket. Pretty Cheerful, huh?!

Well, there are some ideas for you to try. Hopefully, you already have this fun stamp set, since it is gone from the catalog. I think it makes some great cards and certainly makes you smile. Thanks for stopping by today and see you soon!

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Occasions Catalog, Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

