Happy Fall!

WOW!! Where did the summer go?! I just realized my last post was on June 17th and now here it is OCTOBER!!  “What happened and Where have I been?”, you ask……well, lots of things including a busy summer with some fun trips, more work on our barn project, gardening, and just general lack of time.

So, I have made a little commitment to myself to get back into blog posting and try and catch up after such a long hiatus. Hopefully, you also had a good and busy summer too,  and didn’t miss me too much. It feels good to get back at it, though, and so check out what I have for you today!

I found so many wonderful items in Stampin’ Up’s new Holiday Catalog, and it was really hard to choose which were my favorites. This Woodland Textured Impressions Embossing Folder (#139673, p. 39 Holiday Catalog -HC) was definitely on the top of list.

Woodland leaves

I was so inspired by a card that I saw on Pinterest by Connie Pond for this card. She mentioned using leftovers from the Witching Decor Project Kit to help create this card and I LOVED that idea.  I had so many leftover leaves from my Witching Decor Kit (#140969, p. 7 HC) AND some leftover burlap twine, so this is my version of this nice Fall card.

I used a Cajun Craze card base and a Tip Top Taupe cardstock layer (which I embossed with the Woodland Embossing folder). I added Tip Top Taupe ink to the embossing folder before I embossed the cardstock, to get the darker background amongst the trees. I used some leftover leaves from my Witching Decor Kit, and stamp them with the Vintage Leaves stamp set (#138802, p.88 Annual Catalog- AC). Since this is a photopolymer stamp set, it is so easy to line up the images within the precut leaves…..love that!!  Next I added some burlap twine, which was leftover from trimming off the edges of the burlap ribbon in Witching Decor Kit. This adds a little extra dimension, as well as, using up some of those leftover elements.

woodland spookyThis card was CASED from Julie Davison. I altered my card very little from hers, since I loved it so much the way she did it.

I used a Black card base, a layer of Smoky Slate, and a piece of Happy Haunting DSP (#139584, p.47 HC). I used the Woodland Embossing Folder and the coordinating stamp set, Among the Branches (#140872, p.39 HC) on this card. I added a little shadowing to the trees by using a sponge dauber and some Smoky Slate ink and lightly rubbing across the embossed trees.  I added a Black Glimmer Paper (#139605, p.47 HC) scalloped circle behind the “spooky” circle image. I added a  piece of Pumpkin Pie 1/4″ Cotton Ribbon     (# 134565, p.159 AC) across the card for a little extra “POP”.

woodland acornThis card was CASED from Lisa. Again, I did not alter this card much from the original version. I used a Whisper White card base, a Crumb Cake layer, and the Woodland Embossing Folder (#139673, p.39 HC). I inked the embossing folder with White ink before embossing, and that created a soft white background amongst the trees.  I punched out a hole in the Crumb Cake layer and then stamped and punched out the acorn image using the Acorny Thank You stamp set and Acorn Builder Punch Bundle (#140841, p.45 HC). I added the acorn with stampin’ dimensionals and tied a piece of linen thread (p.#104199, p.159 AC) around the stem of the acorn.

woodland autumnThis card was CASED from Nicole Tugrul. She made a bag which was the inspiration for my card. I used the Among the Branches stamp set and Woodland Embossing Folder Bundle (#140872, p.39 HC) on this card too. I used a Crumb Cake card base and card layer. I used Cajun Craze ink and touches of gold. I added Gold Baker’s Twine (#132975, p.158 AC) and Gold Foil Paper (#132622 AC). I punched out the Gold Foil with the Decorative Label Punch (#120907, p.166 AC) and the circle image with the 2″ Circle Punch (#133782, p.165 AC).

woodland winterThis last card also uses the Woodland Embossing Folder, but has more of a Winter theme. Deb Valder provided the inspiration for this card. I used a Whisper White card base, a Smoky Slate card layer, and the Woodland Embossing Folder (#139673, p.39 HC). I used some white ink and a sponge dauber to lightly add the color to the trees. I punched out 3 little red birds using the Tree Builder Punch (#138295, p.167 AC) and added them to the card with mini glue dots. Finally, I added a little banner with the sentiment from the Festival of Trees stamp set (#135059, p.71 AC).

Now maybe you can see why the Woodland Embossing Folder is one of my favorites. So many ways to use it, and it can be combined with so many different stamp sets too! It is a great value when bundled with the Among the Branches stamp set, BUT it is so versatile that you can pair it up with many other stamp sets, as well.

WELL! It is good to be back and hopefully I can fulfill my promise and try to post a little more often. I have a huge pile of cards on my desk to share….so I better get busy posting, huh?!  Thanks for stopping by and hope to see you soon.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Holiday Catalog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

