Technique Tuesday- Washi Tape Herringbone Technique

Today’s technique was inspired by a demonstration that I saw at the Stampin’ Up! Leadership meeting in Florida last winter. Shelli Gardner demonstrated how to use washi tape to add a great herringbone look to your stamping projects.

Washi Tape Herringbone Technique: Create a bachground design in a herringbone pattern using Washi Tape.                                                                                                                Place the Washi Tape onto the cardstock diagonally to create a V-pattern overlapping the ends. Trim the excess Washi Tape with an Exacto Knife by using the overlappping tape as a guide.                                                                                                                                                       *Use a light hand, when cutting with the Exacto Knife, so that you only cut through the top layer of Washi Tape. Once the pattern or design is complete, trim excess Washi Tape along the outer edge of the cardstock.

washi tape tech 1This is a easy technique and it really makes a great background. AND it is a wonderful way to use up some of my stash of Washi Tape!  This card was inspired by the card that Shelli showed at Leadership. I used a Black card base, a Whisper White cardstock layer, and a variety of black, gold, and white Washi Tapes from my big collection of Washi Tape. I used the words and border image from the Tin of Cards stamp set (#138946, p.110 AC). The final element was a heart punched from Gold Glimmer paper (#133719, p.149 AC) using the heart from the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (#133787, p.166 AC).

washi tape tech2

This card has a Rich Razzleberry card base, a Delightful Dijon cardstock layer, and a panel of Rich Razzleberry and Whisper White. I added the Bohemian Designer Washi Tape (#138386, p.157 AC) to the Whisper White panel in the herringbone pattern. I added a flower from the Flower Patch stamp set (#134207, p.76 AC) and the coordinating Flower Fair Framelits (133731, p.172 AC) to the card. I used the colors from the Bohemian Designer Washi Tape to determine my color scheme on this card.

washi tape tech3This card has a Crushed Curry card base, a Black cardstock layer, and a Whisper White layer. I added a variety of Washi Tapes from my collection in black, gray, white, and Crushed Curry. I just grabbed whatever looked good together and didn’t worry about using current items or Washi Tapes from different collections.

I left an open space to add the words from the Floral Wings Hostess stamp set (#139169, p.180 AC). I used the butterfly image from the same stamp set, and stayed with the Black and Crushed Curry color scheme for the ink colors.

washi tape tech4My last card to share today has a Halloween theme. I used a Pumpkin Pie card base, a Black cardstock layer, and a Very Vanilla  layer. I added some retired Halloween Washi Tape, and combined it with the current Happy Haunting Designer Washi Tape (#139608, p.47 HC) to create the herringbone background pattern.

I used the owl image from the Warmest of Wishes Hostess stamp set (retired). I love this little guy and just had to add him to this fun card. I punched him out using the Owl Builder Punch (#118074, p.167 AC), and attached him with stampin’ dimensionals.

washi tape tech4aI added a Black Glimmer paper (#139605, p.47 HC) 2″ Circle (#133782, p.165 AC) and layered that onto a 2-1/2″Circle (#120906, p.165 AC) of Basic Black cardstock. I popped the owl and the Black Glimmer circle off the card with stampin’ dimensionals.

So, there it is: Washi Tape Herringbone Technique, a fun and colorful background technique to help you whittle down your Washi Tape collection too. Happy Stampin’ and thanks for stopping by!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

