Technique Tuesday- Elegant Heat Embossed Backgrounds

Well, this was one of the stamping techniques that I shared with my stamp clubs last month. And although it really is nothing more than Heat Embossing, it is the way that you use that technique to create an elegant background, that really may be a “new” idea or technique.

Elegant Heat Embossed Backgrounds: Create background designs by stamping images with versamark ink and heat embossing with embossing powder.                         Use a background stamp or a stamp which can be repeatedly stamped to create the background design. Use versamark ink, clear embossing powder, and a heat tool to achieve the heat embossed image.                                                                                                  *You can also use colored embossing powder, however this will not have the same tone-on-tone effect as the clear embossing powder does.

vintage leaves embossingThis is a nice example of this super simple (yet elegant) technique! I used the Vintage Leaves stamp set (#138802, p.88 AC) and heat embossed the images with Clear Embossing Powder (#109130, p.162 AC) on Crumb Cake cardstock. The leaves have a fabulous tone-on-tone glossy look that really makes the background look very elegant.     I layered that piece onto a piece of Gold Foil Paper (#132622, p.148 AC) and a Rich Razzleberry card base.

I stamped the single leaf image with versamark ink onto a piece of Rich Razzleberry cardstock and heat embossed with Gold Embossing Powder (#109129, p.162 AC). Then I cut out the leaf with the coordinating Leaflets Framelits (#138283, p.172 AC). I added this leaf to the card with stampin’ dimensionals and attached a Gold Metallic Button (#133763, p.161 AC) and some Linen Thread (#104199, p. 159 AC) for a bit more dimension.

world of thanks embossingThis card is super simple, but the heat embossed background really gives this card a great  glossy touch! I CASED this card from Angela McKay. I used a Watermelon Wonder card base, and heat embossed the A World of Thanks background stamp (#139312, p.15 AC) with Clear Embossing Powder. I added a banner in Watermelon Wonder cardstock with stampin’ dimensionals. Next, I added the “thanks” that was cut with the Greeting Thinlits (#138274, p.172 AC) from Basic Black cardstock. I used my heart punch from the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (#133787, p.166 AC) and the 1″ Circle Punch (#119868, p.165 AC) to create the heart accent from Black Glimmer Paper (#139605, p.47 HC). This adds a bit of glimmer to the card (which is hard to appreciate on this image). Finally, I added some Silver Metallic Thread (#138402, p.159 AC) behind the banner to give this card one last interesting element.

corner garden embossingThis card also uses a background stamp to create the Elegant Heat Embossed Background. I was inspired for this card from HERE. I used a Whisper White card base, a layer of Basic Gray cardstock, and a layer of Wisteria Wonder cardstock. I used Clear Embossing Powder, versamark ink, and the Corner Garden background stamp (#134045, p.129 AC). Then I added the sentiment from the One Big Meaning stamp set (#138788, p.16 AC) and heat embossed with White Embossing Powder (#109132, p.162 AC). VERY quick and simple card, but also VERY nice!

Awesomely artistic embossingI saw this card somewhere on Pinterest, but now I am not sure who or where is was from. I wish I could give credit to whomever the original was created by, but I’m unsure who that was. (Let me know if you see this post and are the original artist, and I would love to give you due credit).

I used a Mint Macaron card base and card layer. I heat embossed the floral image in the background from the Awesomely Artistic stamp set (#138694, p.125 AC) with Clear Embossing Powder. I added some Gold Metallic Thread (#138401, p.159 AC) and some banners in Whisper White cardstock and Gold Foil Sheets (#132622, p.148 AC). I used the images from the Awesomely Artistic stamp set on the banner, for the label, and the dragonfly. I used Gold Metallic ink (retired) for the label and banner images, and heat embossed the dragonfly with Gold Embossing Powder (#109129, p.162 AC). I cut the label and the dragonfly images out with my paper snips and attached them to the card with stampin’ dimensionals. I used the sentiment from the And Many More stamp set (#134273, p.105 AC) on the label. The last element was a piece of Mint Macaron Dotted Lace Trim (#138424, p.159 AC). This is a great card to highlight the new incolor Mint Macaron, as well as the technique, Elegant Heat Embossed Backgrounds.

I shared a couple Halloween cards recently on THIS POST, and they also have the Elegant Heat Embossed Background Technique on them. Check it out for some more ideas of this great technique. THEN give it a try! You will not be disappointed. It is a great look with not much effort. Gotta love that!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, New Products- 2015-2016 Catalog, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

