Black and White Birthday Card

I used to feel like making masculine themed cards was a little more challenging, but now I really find it pretty easy. Of course, it always helps if you have the right stamp set to get you started, but sometimes it just comes down to the color scheme too.

black and white birthdayThis Black and White card is a simple look, but also just the perfect combination for a masculine birthday card. I CASED this card from Heidi Baks. I stuck with her basic idea: Black and White color scheme, the Wetlands stamp set, and the simple card layout.

I used a Basic Black card base, and a layer of Whisper White cardstock and a Everyday Chic Designer Series Paper (#138445, p.142 AC). I stamped the images from the Wetlands stamp set (#126695, p.116 AC) with my Black Memento ink pad (#132708, p.163 AC). I added a layered band of Basic Black and Whisper White cardstock across the card, and stamped the sentiment from the Wetlands stamp set.

black and white birthday insideI added a Whisper White layer to the inside of the card, and stamped the grass image on that layer AND on the envelope (just for fun). I used the sentiment on the inside from the Sincere Salutations stamp set (retired). This is one of my all time favorite word stamp sets from Stampin’ Up, and I continue to use it pretty frequently. I thought the font on this set went really pretty nicely with the words from the Wetlands set, so that worked for me!

This card was for my brother, and I hope he liked it. It was a simple creation but seemed to be just the right card for him. Thanks for stopping by and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

