Note Tag Punch Trick- Part 1

I saw a great idea from Dawn Olchefske a while back on making a window cut out with the Note Tag Punch (#135860, p.166 AC), and I absolutely LOVED it!  I showed this trick to my stamp clubs a few months ago and they LOVE it too!

I made several cards using this trick and will share a couple today and a couple tomorrow.

Note Tag punch trick1This idea was very similar to the cards that Dawn shared on her blog. I altered my card slightly, but used many of the same stamps and papers that she did.

I started with a Mint Macaron card base and embossed it with the new Elegant Dots Embossing Folder (#138287, p.174 AC). I then added a layer of Basic Black cardstock cut 3-1/2″ square. The DSP is from the Pretty Petals Paper Stack (#138442, p.144 AC), and this is where the magic happens!!

You need to start with a 3-1/4″ square piece of paper and then center that (side to side) in the Note Tag Punch. Make sure you push your paper all the way into the punch and this will center it front to back, as well. Punch once and then rotate your paper 180 Degrees and repeat the same step, and punch a second time. You should be careful to line up the opening from the first punch, within the punch, for the second punch. This creates a wonderful window that is decorative on both ends! WAH LAH….

I added a piece of Very Vanilla under the window opening and stamped the sentiment from the B.Y.O.B. stamp set (#137159, p.62 AC). I added a bunch of flowers in Vanilla, Mint Macaron, and Black cardstock using the Petite Petals Punch (#133322, p. 167 AC), the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (#133787, p.166 AC), the Tree Builder Punch (#138295, p.167 AC), and the Bird Builder Punch (#117191, p.167 AC). Then I added some Pearls (#19247, p.160 AC) to the centers of the flowers.

Note Tag punch trick2This is another idea from the same basic card layout. I used a Watermelon Wonder card base and stamped it with the Dots for Days background stamp (#138950, p.129 AC) in black ink. Then I added a 3-1/2″ square piece of Basic Black cardstock, a 3-3/8″ square piece of Very Vanilla, and a 3-1/4″ square piece of DSP from the Pretty Petals Paper Stack (just like the other card). I did the same trick with the Note Tag Punch and created the window. I stamped the sentiment from the Tin of Cards stamp set (#138946, p.110 AC) in black ink.

Then I added a layered butterfly cut with the Butterfly Thinlits (#137360, p.172 AC) and the Bold Butterfly Framelits (#138135, p.172 AC). I added a Black Candy Dot (#130934, p.161 AC) as the final element on this card.

Thanks, Dawn, for this great Note Tag Punch Trick! I love finding other ideas and uses for a punch. It gives them an even better value for your dollar! Hope you will join me again tomorrow for a couple more ideas using this great trick. See you soon!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, New Products- 2015-2016 Catalog, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Note Tag Punch Trick- Part 1

  1. Charlotte Simons says:

    This is a super idea! It will leave an altogether different look than pasting a window onto the card! Thank you for posting the idea!

  2. StampinU says:

    Glad you like the idea! It is really a fun look and so easy too. Enjoy!!

  3. Pingback: Note Tag Punch Trick -Part 2 | StampinU

  4. Pingback: Another Note Tag Punch Trick Card | StampinU

Leave a Reply

