Technique Tuesday- Stenciled Backgrounds

Stenciled Backgrounds: Create a background design using stencils, sponges or spritzers, and ink.                                                                                                                               Lay a stencil overtop of a piece of cardstock. Use a sponge, sponge dauber, or spritzer to apply ink over the stencil. Layer ink colors to add some dimension to the stenciled design and apply ink until you reach the desired look.                                                                                 Create your own stencils by cutting window sheets with framelits or use precut stencils.

Today’s technique is a simple idea to create some nice and easy background looks. I love the stencils that Stampin’ Up has available in their catalog, and here are a few cards to highlight this technique.

IMG_6947The first 2 cards use the Hearts & Stars Decorative Masks offered in the Annual Stampin’ Up catalog (#133777, p.157 AC). I started with a Whisper White card base and layered Real Red and Smoky Slate cardstock pieces. I used the Hearts Stencil and applied Real Red ink with a sponge dauber to the Smoky Slate layer. I added a little Smoky Slate ink with a sponge dauber over the Real Red ink on just half of the heart to give it a shadowed look. That really adds some great dimension! Next, I used the images and greeting from the Lovely Amazing You Photopolymer stamp set (#140594, online catalog only). I added a couple Red Foil hearts (#139607, p.26 HC) which I punched out with the Owl Builder Punch (#118074, p.167 AC).

Star Stenciled BackgroundThis card uses the Stars Stencil from the Hearts & Stars Decorative Masks (#133777, p.157 AC). I used a Daffodil Delight card base, a Basic Black cardstock layer, and a Daffodil Delight cardstock layer. I stenciled the stars with a sponge dauber and Crushed Curry ink. Then I added a little Gold Metallic Ink (retired) to each star using the stencil to give the stars a little glimmer. I used the You’re So Sweet stamp set (#138682, p.57 AC) and coordinating star framelit from the Mini Treat Bag Thinlits (#137547, p.171 AC) to cut out the center of the star image. I added a piece of Gold Glimmer Paper (#133719, p.149 AC) inside the opening of the heart. Finally, I used my Confetti Stars Border Punch (#135861, p.166 AC) and punch out some more Gold Glimmer starts to add to the card with my glue pen. There is lots of glimmer on this card!

Acorn Stenciled BackgroundThis card was inspired by a great card by Victoria at blue jelly so n so. I really love how she added lots of dimension to the stenciled background by sponging several colors to create a fabulous look!

I started with a Lost Lagoon card base and a layer of Crumb Cake cardstock. I used my Dots Stencil from an old banner kit from Stampin’ Up (just like Victoria did on her card), however, the Dots & Stripes Decorative Masks (#133775, p.157 AC) would create the same look. I followed her directions and sponged with White ink onto the Crumb Cake cardstock first. Then I shifted the placement of the Stencil or Mask, and added Lost Lagoon ink, Blackberry Bliss ink, and Tangelo Twist ink with a sponge to cover most but not all of the original White Dots. I blended the inks also, to give it a very nice transitional feel of the colors. I absolutely love this look and it would be a great background for all sorts of cards.

Next, I used the Acorny Thank You stamp set and Acorn Builder Punch Bundle (#140841, p.45 HC). I added a 1-3/4″ Circle Punch (#119850, p.165 AC) in Crumb Cake cardstock under the acorn with stampin’ dimensionals. Finally, I made a banner using the Banner Triple Punch (#138292, p.165 AC) from Vellum Cardstock (#101856, p.148 AC) and added the sentiment from the Acorny Thank You stamp set.

Thanks for the great inspiration, Victoria!!

So, there are just a few ideas for this wonderful Stenciled Background Technique. I hope you got a little inspiration to try something new today too!! Stop back again tomorrow for a couple more ideas using this technique. See you then!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, New Products- 2015-2016 Catalog, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday- Stenciled Backgrounds

  1. Pingback: Stenciled Backgrounds -Part 2 | StampinU

Leave a Reply

