Technique Tuesday (on Wednesday)- Watercolor Wash Technique

Here is another technique that I shared with my stamp clubs a while ago. I am still trying to catch up on my posts, so these samples definitely have a summery feel to them, but I really wanted to show this technique anyway.

Watercolor Wash Technique: Create an easy watercolored background using ink, an aqua painter, and watercolor paper.                                                                                                Stamp or Emboss an image onto watercolor paper. Then either squeeze the ink pad to get some ink onto the lid of the pad OR apply a drop of re-inker to the lid of the pad. Then use an aquapainter to grab the ink and apply it to the watercolor paper. Continue adding ink until you have reached the desired effect. You can blend more than one color to create a multicolored look too.                                                                                                                    *If stamping your image first, use Stazon ink, so it will not run or bleed when watercoloring. Or you can stamp an image after the watercolored background is completely dry, and then you may use any type of ink.

Watercolor Wash Technique and Wetlands

This is a very easy technique, but I highly recommend using watercolor paper. It will make your watercoloring look so much better AND your paper will not warp.

I used a Whisper White card base, Whisper White layer, and a Watercolor Paper layer. I used the Wetlands stamp set (#126695, p.116 AC). I stamped the birds with Stazon ink first, added the Watercolor Wash background, and then stamped the grasses after the watercolored background dried. Easy Peasy!!

IMG_6975This card was CASED from Charlet.  I followed her basic idea, however I altered the color scheme and added some pearls. I used a Mint Macaron card base and layered a Whisper White piece of cardstock with rounded corners. I used the Work of Art stamp set (#134111, p.118 AC) on the Whisper White layer and added some Pearls (#119247, p.160 AC). Then I embossed the “thank you” from the Watercolor Thank You stamp (#135377, p.18 AC) with White Embossing Powder (#109132,p.162 AC) onto a piece of Watercolor Paper (#122959, p.148 AC). I added the Watercolor Wash background in Watermelon Wonder and Mint Macaron ink, and I cut out the circle with the Circle Collection Framelits (#130911, p.173 AC). Finally, I added some flowers from the Something to Say stamp set (#134177, p.108 AC) which were embossed with White Embossing Powder onto Watermelon Wonder cardstock and punched out with the coordinating Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (#133787, p.166 AC).

Watercolored Background Technique and Butterfly BasicsThis card was CASED from Helen den Breejen. I really didn’t change very much from her original idea, since I just loved it so much. I started with a Whisper White card base and added a layer of Pacific Point cardstock. I stamped the sentiment from the Butterfly Basics stamp set (#138813, p.124 AC) in versamark ink and heat embossed with White Embossing Powder (# 109132, p.162 AC) onto a layer of Watercolor Paper (#122959, p.148 AC). Next, I added the Watercolor Wash background in Pacific Point, Perfect Plum, and Marina Mist ink. Then I stamped the rest of the images from the Butterfly Basics stamp set in Basic Gray and Memento Black ink overtop the Watercolored Background, once it had dried.IMG_6977

The final element is the butterfly which was stamped and cut out using the Butterfly Basics stamp set and the coordinating Butterflies Thinlits (#137360, p.172 AC) and the Bold Butterfly Framelits (#138135, p.172 AC). I added the butterfly with stampin’ dimensionals to pop it off the card.

These are just a few of the samples I have to showcase this great Watercolor Wash Technique. Stop back again tomorrow for a few more. Thanks for stopping by today and Happy Stampin’!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

