Watercolor Wash Technique -Part 2

Watercolored Background and Kinda EclecticI have a few more cards to share today using the Watercolored Wash Technique from yesterday’s post. You can see how by these cards that you can really get a varied amount of looks with this technique depending on how you watercolor your background. You can use an aquapainter and ink and just apply the ink were you want it OR you can mist your watercolor paper with a water filled spritzer tool and then apply some drops of ink with your aquapainter to get a very different look. It is so fun to see what will happen using the different methods of adding the water and ink.

Kinda Electic Watercolored Background BirthdayThis card was inspired from a card that I saw from Teneale Williams. I loved the color scheme and card layout for her card and CASED almost exactly what she had done.

I used a Crumb Cake card base and layered a piece of Watercolor Paper (#122959, p.148AC) on to that. I used the Kinda Eclectic stamp set (#135347, p.127 AC) and added the dots to the card base. I used a spritzer tool filled with water and moistened my Watercolor Paper slightly. Then I grabbed some ink with my aquapainter and touched it to the wet Watercolor Paper. I added Daffodil Delight, Lost Lagoon, and Cucumber Crush and let them all spread together to get this great background. I’m sure no two cards would look the same when doing this, but I absolutely LOVE how this one turned out! I used my heat tool to dry the ink (and spread it around a bit too). Then I added the starburst image in Crushed Curry ink and finally added the sentiment from the Happy Birthday, Everyone Hostess stamp set (#139171, p.179 AC) with White Embossing Powder (#109132, p.162 AC). Finally, I added some butterflies with stampin’ dimensionals from the Kinda Eclectic stamp set and some Linen Thread (#104199, p.159 AC).

Kinda Eclectic Watercolored Background Birthday 2This card is basically the same as the previous card, however I just pooled the color onto the Watercolor Paper with my aquapainter and let it dry without moving it around with my Heat Tool. I also added some speckles to the watercolored layer with the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (#130514, p.123AC). I also switched out the sentiment for the “Happy Birthday” from the Butterfly Basics stamp set (#138813, p.124 AC), layered the butterflies from the Kinda Eclectic stamp set, added some Pearls (#119247, p.160 AC), and switched the Linen Thread for the Baked Brown Sugar Thick Baker’s Twine (retired).

Watercolored Background ThanksMy last card using this Watercolor Wash Technique is a repeat from an earlier post: HERE. I used an aquapainter for this card too and just washed the colors onto the Watercolor Paper. I used several colors and blended them together to get a gradient effect. This is such a great and EASY way to add an interesting background.

Well, now I hope you are inspired to give this Watercolor Wash Technique a try too, and see what you can come up with. Happy Stampin’!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

