Hawkeye Birthday!

My brother’s birthday is coming up this week, so I created a Hawkeye Birthday Card for him. He lives in Michigan now, but is still a Hawkeye fan (and sometimes that is pretty tough while living in Michigan!). This has been a great season for the Iowa Football program, so nothing to be ashamed of this year!! Four FeathersI CASED this card from Julie Gearinger. It just shouted Hawkeyes to me when I saw it. The gold and black color scheme and the feathers were a great combination. I just added a few extra touches to make it my own and complete the Hawkeye theme.

I started with a Basic Black card base and added a layer of Whisper White. Nex, I used the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (#130514, p.123 AC) to add the background stamping in Smoky Slate, Black, and Crushed Curry inks. I have a set of non-SU Iowa Hawkeye stamps, and so I added a couple images from that set to the background, as well. Then I used the Four Feathers stamp set (retired) and the coordinating Feathers Framelits (retired) as the focal point of the card. I stamped them in Black ink and colored with a Crushed Curry marker. I used stampin’ dimensionals to add them to the card and attached the Crushed Curry Baker’s Twine (#134586, p.158 AC) with a dot of glue.

Four Feathers insideThe inside of the card has a couple more feather images and a sentiment from the Remembering Your Birthday stamp set (#131347, p.8 AC).  I used my Black marker to just ink up the ” Happy Birthday” on this stamp, since it actually says “But then I forgot! Happy belated Birthday”. I really like the font on that stamp. It just feels masculine to me, I guess.

So, there is my version of a masculine HAWKEYE birthday card! Thanks, Julie, for the inspiration and I hope I have given you a bit of inspiration, as well. GO HAWKS!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

