Technique Tuesday- Sponging Embossed Images

Well, I’M BACK!! Time for some new techniques and ideas, huh?! It has been a crazy Fall, and seems as if I have been “falling” behind on some blog posts…HA HA. So, here we go!

This is a simple technique that really is just about highlighting your heat embossed images to create a nice bit of shadow or dimension.                                                                                       Sponging Embossed Images: Create a highlighted image using heat embossed images and a sponge dauber.                                                                                                                              Heat emboss a thin-lined or open spaced image with white embossing powder. Then use a sponge dauber to apply the same color ink as the cardstock to the image. This will make the image POP off the cardstock and highlight the white embossed image.                                  *This is a version of the Emboss Resist Technique.

IMG_7025This is a great wintery scene, just perfect for the COLD weather we have been experiencing here in the Midwest. I used a Whisper White card base and added a layer of Smoky Slate DSP from the Neutrals Designer Series Paper Stack (#138435, p.144). I embossed the image from the White Christmas stamp set (#135767, p.68) with White Embossing Powder (#109132, p.162) on the Smoky Slate cardstock. I cut out this piece with the Deco Labels Collection Framelits (#130102, p.173). Then I added some Smoky Slate ink with a sponge dauber over the embossed image to create the highlighted look. I used my White ink pad to soften the edge of the Smoky Slate cardstock. Finally, I added some glimmery stars by punching out some stars from Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper (#135315, p.149) with the Confetti Stars Border Punch (#135861, p.166).

IMG_7027This card has a really rich and masculine feeling to me. I used an Early Espresso card base, a layer of Whisper White, and a layer of Crumb Cake cardstock. I embossed the leaves from the Vintage Leaves stamp set (#138802, p.88) and added a bit of Crumb Cake ink with a sponge dauber. I added the sentiment from the Merry Everything stamp set (#135068, p.71) and used the Deco Labels Collection Framelits (#130102, p.173) to cut out the Whisper White cardstock.

This card was CASED from Kylie Bertucci. I really liked the card sketch (from Freshly Made Sketches) and the use of the Corner Garden Background stamp. I used a Basic Gray card base on this card. I stamped the Corner Garden background stamp (#134045, p.129) on Wisteria Wonder cardstock and embossed with White Embossing Powder. I added Wisteria Wonder ink over the embossed image with sponge dauber, and I cut the stamped layer into 3 pieces. I added those pieced to the card base with stampin’ dimensionals. Finally, I stamped the sentiment from the One Big Meaning stamp set (#138788, p.16) onto a piece of Whisper White and punched it out with the Washi Label punch (#138296, p.166).

IMG_7030This card uses a Hostess stamp set called Best Thoughts (139234, p.180). I used a Whisper White card base, a layer of Lost Lagoon, and a layer of Pool Party cardstock. I embossed the images with White Embossing Powder and used Pool Party ink with a sponge dauber to highlight the image again. I added a banner with the sentiment from the same stamp set and made the banner points with the Banner Triple Punch (#138292, p.165).

IMG_7026This last card does not really use a fine-lined stamp, however I think you can still see a nice sponging effect since there are some open areas within the stamped image. I used a Daffodil Delight card base and cardstock layer, and a Basic Black cardstock layer. I embossed the Definitely Dahlia (#138746, p.129) background stamp image and added Daffodil Delight ink with a sponge. I added the cut-out thanks from the Greetings Thinlits (#138275, p.172) in Black cardstock.

So, there you are….a new technique to try out and see what you can create! It is a very simple but beautiful technique that adds a little extra POP to your images. Thanks for stopping by today and hope to see you again….SOON!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, New Products- 2015-2016 Catalog, Techniques, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

