“80” Number of Years

Today I wanted to share a card that I made for my Father-in-law’s birthday. He had a milestone 80th birthday recently and that needed a special card! IMG_7017I  wanted to do something masculine and this card fit that perfectly. I used a Chocolate Chip card base and added a layer of DSP from the Adventure Bound Designer Series Paper Stack (retired). This layer is a very dark wood looking paper, and it just shouted masculine to me. Next, I added a circle cut from Cardstock Vellum (#101856, p.148). I attached it with mini glue dots to the card underneath the numbers, so you would not see them through the vellum. I embossed the 80 from the Number of Years stamp set (#140653, p.11 Occasions Catalog) with Clear Embossing Powder on Chocolate Chip cardstock and then cut those out with the Large Numbers Framelits Dies (#140622, p.10 OC). You can bundle these items, Number of Years stamp set and Large Number Framelits (#140811, p.10), for a 15% discount….so that is the way to go! Finally, I added the banners in Chocolate Chip cardstock and Early Espresso ink to the card. These just added a little extra special touch.

IMG_7020This is a super simple card, but it was just what I was hoping for….masculine, rich, and classic. I really love this new stamp set and framelit bundle. It will be a staple in my stamp room from now on, and I’m sure will get lots of use!

Thanks for checking in and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2016 Occasions Catalog, Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

