Another Number of Years Card

Well, yesterday I shared a birthday card for my Father-in-law, and today I am sharing a birthday card for my son. I knew I would be using the Number of Years stamp set a lot, but it is getting its fair share of ink already!IMG_7031

I saw a great card by Chantal de Kaste, and I knew I wanted to try and replicate that somehow. I do not have the wonderful balloon stamp set and punch that she used (Balloon Celebration stamp set and Balloon Bouquet Punch– #140810, p.13 OC), so I went to my large collection of old stamp sets and searched for any and all balloon images that I could find. I actually came up with quite a few, and in the end, I made it work.

I used a Whisper White card base, and layered on pieces of Basic Gray and Whisper White. I stamped and cut out the balloons, from various stamp sets, with my paper snips. I used Island Indigo and Pool Party ink on the balloons. I added a silver Metallic Foil Doily (#138392, p.148) to the card under the balloons. Some of the balloons were added with stampin’ dimensionals to add some dimension to the card also.

I drew the balloon strings with a black marker on the card, since I did not have a stamp for that. I added some dots with my Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (#130514, p.123) in Smoky Slate, Island Indigo, and Pool Party ink. IMG_7032

I embossed the banner image with White Embossing Powder onto Black cardstock, and cut it out with the coordinating framelit. I added that to the card with stampin’ dimensionals. Then I cut out the 23 with the Large Numbers Framelits (#140622, p.10 OC) from Silver Metallic Foil paper (#132178, p.148), and added those with stampin’ dimensionals also.

Finally, I stamped the HAPPY BIRTHDAY from the Number of Years stamp set (#140653, p.11 OC) and cut them out with a little banner framelit from the Gift Card Envelope & Trims Thinlits (#135854, p.171). I added them to the card with mini glue dots and curved them slightly to add some dimension and interest.

Well, it just goes to show that you can get some inspiration from a card, and even if you don’t have the exact items from that card in your stash, you can accomplish the general idea and look with what you do have.  Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2016 Occasions Catalog, Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Number of Years Card

  1. Linda Gray says:

    Really like your card. The colors used work for both man or woman. Good use of both stamp sets.

Leave a Reply

