Make It Monday: Sympathy Cards

Good Monday morning! I have a couple sympathy cards to share today. I never seem to have enough of these cards on hand, and when you need one, you need it quick. I have been trying to build up a little stash of sympathy cards and so here are a couple that I have come up with.

IMG_7001This is a pretty simple card that I created with a bit of left overs from past Paper Pumpkin Kits. I started with a Night of Navy card base and a Night of Navy layer. I stamped the Corner Garden background stamp (#134045, p.129) with versamark ink onto the Night of Navy cardstock layer and embossed with Clear Embossing Powder(#109130, p.162). It is a little difficult to see on this image, but it has a very elegant shiny look on the dark cardstock. IMG_7002Next, I added a Gold Foil Sheet (#132622, p.148) and Whisper White label cut with the Tags & Labels Framelits (#138282, p.173). I used the sentiment from the Chalk It Up To Love August 2015 Paper Pumpkin Kit. I love the font of this stamp and it adds just the right elegant touch. Then I added a little Night of Navy punched flower using the Petite Petals Punch(#133322, p.167) and the Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack (#133787, p.166). I added a circle punch of Gold Glimmer paper (#133719, p.149) to the center of the flower and a couple leaves from another Paper Pumpkin Kit called Blissful Bouquet (Oct.2015).

IMG_7023I CASED this card from Jacque Williams. I loved the sponged background and the color scheme of her card. It just seemed to have a very classy look and I loved that.

I started with a Elegant Eggplant card base and a layer of Whisper White cardstock. I added Black Stitched Satin Ribbon (#138430, p.159) around the Whisper White layer. Then I added another layer of Elegant Eggplant and Whisper White, and stamped the trees from the Wonderland stamp set (retired from the Holiday Catalog) in Black ink. I stamped several times across the bottom of the cardstock, and did not re-ink every time, to create the lighter shade which gives the card some depth. Then I placed a Circle cut from scratch paper (to use as a mask) onto the cardstock, and sponged over the Whisper White cardstock with Smoky Slate, Wisteria Wonder, and Perfect Plum inks to create the great background. I removed the Circle mask, and WAH LAH, I created the moon!! Finally, I added the sentiment from the Rose Wonder stamp set (#140697, p.18 Occasions Catalog) in Black ink.

IMG_7024I used the coordinating sentiment from the Rose Wonder stamp set on the inside of the card and stamped the tree image again on the inside, as well.

So, I hope you have been inspired to build up your card stash a bit too. Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

