Technique Tuesday- Scored and Sponged Background Technique

I have another simple technique for you today. This technique adds a lovely background to any card or project.

Scored and Sponged Background Technique: Create an easy background using a Scoring Tool and Sponge Daubers.                                                                                                   Cut a square piece of cardstock. Place in the upper left corner of the Scoring Tool and the Diagonal Score Plate to score diagonal lines. Using the 1-inch marks start scoring in one direction. Then rotate the cardstock 90 degrees and score on the 1-inch marks again, so the score lines are perpendicular to the first set of score lines.                                                Fold along ALL score lines and lightly sponge ink along BOTH sides of the scored lines with a sponge dauber.

I saw a great tutorial on this technique from Rachel Tessman HERE. She has some nice images that will help clarify the directions for this technique….thanks! Rachel.

IMG_7039This card was inspired by Rachel’s card, and I just altered the color combination and stamp set. I started with a Smoky Slate card base and added a layer of Elegant Eggplant. Next, I added a piece of Wisteria Wonder cardstock that I used the Scored and Sponged Background Technique to create the interesting background look. I added a piece of Wisteria Wonder Seam Binding Ribbon (# 134572, p.159) around the card. Finally, I added another layer of Elegant Eggplant and Whisper White cardstock. I stamped the trees from the Wonderland stamp set (p.23, Holiday Catalog) in Elegant Eggplant ink and added a bit of Dazzling Details (#124117,p.162) to the trees. The sentiment is from the Happy Scenes stamp set (p.11 Holiday Catalog).

IMG_7041This card was also inspired by Rachel’s card and has the basic card template as the above card. I used a Crumb Cake card base and layered the Scored and Sponged Mint Macaron cardstock piece on top. I added a strip of Crumb Cake cardstock, instead of a ribbon, on this card. I added a bit of texture to that strip with the Softly Falling Embossing Folder (#139672, p.24 Holiday Catalog). The focal point is a layer of Whisper White cardstock and a layer of Mint Macaron cardstock. I stamped the leaf images from the Awesomely Artistic stamp set (#138694, p.125) with versamark ink and embossed with White Embossing Powder. Then I added some Crumb Cake ink to the Mint Macaron layer with a sponge dauber to highlight the embossed images. Finally, I stamped the dragonfly from the Awesomely Artistic stamp set onto a piece of Whisper White cardstock and cut it out with my paper snips.

IMG_7038This card uses a Blackberry Bliss card base and layers of Gold Foil Sheet (#132622, p.148) and Sahara Sand cardstock. I created the Scored and Sponged Background on the Sahara Sand layer and added a few snowflake embellishments. I added the sentiment in Gold Embossing Powder (#109129, p.162) from the Wonderland stamp set (p.23, Holiday Catalog). The focal point of the card consists of a Crumb Cake circle of cardstock stamped with the snowflakes from the Wonderland stamp set and embossed with White Embossing Powder. I stamped the tree from the Festival of Trees stamp set (#135059, p.71) and punched it out with the coordinating Tree Punch (#135859, p.167). I added a Gold Glimmer (#133719, p.149) star to the top of the tree.

IMG_7037This last card has a Early Espresso card base and a Crumb Cake cardstock layer. I added the background technique to the Crumb Cake layer, and added a couple scalloped edged pieces in Pear Pizzazz and Pumpkin Pie cardstock. I cut these scalloped pieces with the largest framelit in the Squares Collection Framelits (#130921, p.173). Next, I stamped the leaves from the Vintage Leaves stamp set (#138802, p.88) in Early Espresso ink, and cut them out with the Leaflets Framelits (#138283, p.172). I added them to the card with stampin’ dimensionals. I created a banner with the sentiment from the For All Things stamp set (#135152, p.87) and added that to the bottom of the card. Last of all, I tied a piece of Early Espresso Seam Binding Ribbon (#134582,p.159) around the card.

So, I hope you like the look of this easy technique and give it a try. I think it adds an interesting background with very little effort. Thanks for stopping by today and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015 Holiday Catalog, 2015-2016 Stampin' Up Catalog, Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

