Corner Flip Cards

Hello, and thanks for joining me today!  I have a few cards that I shared with my stamp clubs in November, and I am finally getting around to posting them on the blog! Better late than never, as they say….

These Corner Flip cards are fun to make and really makes for a nice focal point on your cards too. I first saw this on a nice video tutorial by Dawn Olchefske, so check it out and see the details. I have written out the directions here for you too.                                                              Corner Flip Card:                                                                                                                        – Cut a 5-1/2”x 8-1/2” card base and score at 4-1/4”                                                                        – Place the card base in a paper trimmer with the left edge lined up at the 3” mark                  – Cut a slit from 2-1/2” mark to the 4-7/8”                                                                                          – Rotate the card 90 degrees and line up at the 3” mark again                                                      – Cut a slit from 3” mark to the 5/8” mark                                                                                          – Place the card in the paper trimmer and line up the ends of the slits within the track and score from the slit to the edge of the cardstock to allow the cardstock to flip easier and make a nice fold                                                                                                                                 – Flip the corner up to create the Corner Flip Card

IMG_7044

I CASED this card from Sage Kimble. I really liked her color scheme and choice of stamp set, but I just altered it slightly to make it my own. I started with a Lost Lagoon card base and added layers of Tip Top Taupe and Pool Party to the inside of the card. I created the Corner Fold on the card front and then added a layers of Tip Top Taupe and Whisper White. I stamped the images from the Awesomely Artistic stamp set (#138694, p.125) on the card front with versamark ink and embossed with Clear Embossing Powder. I stamped the image on the Whisper White with Soft Suede ink and used my Tip Top Taupe, Pool Party, and Lost Lagoon markers to color in the image. I stamped the dragonfly on a scrap piece of Whisper White, cut it out with my paper snips, and attached it to the card with a stampin’ dimensional. Finally, I stamped the label image from the same stamp set in Soft Suede ink and added the sentiment from the Watercolor Wings stamp set (#139424, p.75) in Lost Lagoon ink. I cut the label out with my paper snips and attached it to the card with stampin’ dimensionals.

IMG_7047Well, as you can tell, I am trying to catch up on posting cards from before Christmas….so bear with me and maybe you will have an idea for next year’s Christmas cards! This card was inspired by Tina Rappe. I liked the simplicity of her card and just stuck with that theme. I used a Real Red card base and layers of Mossy Meadow and Whisper White. I added the sentiment from the Merry Everything stamp set (#135068, p.71) and two trees from the Festival of Trees stamp set (#135059, p.71). I stamped the trees in Mossy Meadow ink onto Old Olive cardstock and punched them out with the coordinating Tree Punch (#135859, p.167). I wanted to mimic the dots on the sentiment stamp, so I added the dots on the bottom of the card by inking up two lines of dots, with my Real Red marker, from the Dots for Days background stamp (#138950, p.129) and stamped on the card. It was a little tricky to get them lined up and as you can see they are not perfect, but I liked the effect and that’s what homemade is all about, right?!

IMG_7048One more Christmas card…This card also started with a Real Red card base. I added a layers of Mossy Meadow and Whisper White. I added a piece of Merry Moments DSP (#138450, p.143) to the card after I used my Circle Framelits (#130911, p.173) to cut out the circle from the middle of the square layer. I added that to the Corner Flip area and then cut a slightly smaller circle of Whisper White cardstock to attach to the center of the circle. This allows the Mossy Meadow cardstock layer to show through and create an instant frame around the circle. I stamped the images and sentiment from the White Christmas stamp set (#135767, p.68) and used markers to color the image. Super Cute!

IMG_7045This card has a cartoon-like look and I love that!! Just a Basic Black card base, Smoky Slate and Whisper White cardstock layers, and the fun stamp set, Just Kidding (#140667, see online only under Stampin’ Up’s photopolymer stamps). I just added a little Sahara Sand marker to the image, otherwise left it all black and white.

IMG_7046The inside of the card just has some sentiments from the same stamp set. Easy card, but a fun one!

So, there are a few Corner Flip Cards to tempt your creativity. I hope you give it a try….they are really easy to create and the ideas are endless for this card template. Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015-2016 Stampin' Up Catalog, Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corner Flip Cards

  1. Charlotte SIMONS says:

    Thank you for a fresh take on an old favorite!

    Sincerely,

    Charlotte Simons

  2. I just made one of these cards at a Shoebox Card Swap. It was refreshing to see a new style, and now with your directions, I have the ability to create more!

    Oh, I love that “Just Kidding” stamp set! It is right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

