Technique Tuesday- Collage Stamping

I just love the look of Collage Stamping! It is an easy technique and one that I think is one of my favorites.

Collage Stamping: Create a Collage background by layering stamped images.             Use a collection of stamps together, either from the same stamp set OR from several sets. Ink the stamps and stamp the images over the entire background or area that you are working. Layer images on top of each other in a random fashion, and use several ink colors OR shades of the same ink color.                                                                                                   *ink images several times without re-inking to get several shades of the same color         *add ink by sponging around the edges of the cardstock to give it an aged or distressed look                                                                                                                                                   *stamp focal images in darker inks to make them stand out against the other images.                                                                                                                                          IMG_7063 The card was CASED from Angela Lorenz. I used the basic card idea from Angela, however I altered it slightly to make it my own. I used a  Basic Black card base and layered it with a Whisper White piece which was stamped with the images from the Timeless Textures stamp set (#140514, p.29 OC). I used Smoky Slate, Basic Gray, and Black inks to create the collage effect. I added the flower, words, and leaves from the What I Love stamp set from the Sale-a-bration items (#141276, p.7 SAB). I used the Tags & Labels Framelits (#138282, p.173 AC) to cut the label for the card.

IMG_7064This card was inspired by a card by Amy Deems. I really loved the combination of Gray and Yellow on this card. I used a Basic Gray card base, and layered some Crushed Curry, Basic Gray, and Whisper White. I used the Timeless Textures stamp set again to create the collage background. I used Smoky Slate ink, Basic Gray ink, and Hello Honey ink to stamp the collage images. I added a banner and the “hello” from the Greeting Thinlits (#138275, p.172 AC). Then I added the flowers which I cut out with the Botanical Builder Framelits (#140625, p.26 OC) from the Botanical Gardens DSP (#140583, p.27 OC). Finally, I added a little Gold Glimmer with a punched out circle from the Cupcake Builder Punch (#121807, p.167 AC) from Gold Glimmer paper (#133719, p.149 AC).

IMG_7065This card was CASED from Claire Daly.  I didn’t alter her original idea very much, but just a few minor changes here and there. I used a Mint Macaron card base, a layer of Mint Macaron DSP, and Early Espresso and Whisper White cardstock layers. I stamped the images from the Awesomely Artistic stamp set (#138694, p.125 AC) with Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, and Mint Macaron inks. I stamped the dragonfly wings on some separate White cardstock, cut them out, added them to the card with mini glue dots, and added some dazzling diamonds glitter with a glue pen. I tied a bit of linen thread around the card and added the label from the same stamp set with stampin’ dimensionals.

IMG_7066I CASED this card from Cindy Beach. Again, I did not alter this card very much from her original card, however there are a few slight differences. I used a Pool Party card base, a Whisper White layer, and a Pool Party layer. I stamped most of the images from the Butterfly Basics stamp set (#138813, p.124 AC) in Pool Party ink to create the collage background. The large flower stem is embossed with White Embossing Powder, and the words and dashed image along the card edge is stamped in Black ink. I added the butterfly images to the card after cutting them out with the coordinating Bitty Butterfly punch (#129406, p.166 AC) and Butterfly Thinlits (#137360, p.172 AC).

IMG_7062This final card is a “SWEET” one. I used a Pink Pirouette card base that was embossed with the Elegant Dots embossing folder (#138287, p.174 AC). I added layers of Crumb Cake, Chocolate Chip, and Whisper White cardstock. I used the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (#130514, p.123 AC) to create the collage background in Pink Pirouette and Crumb Cake inks. I stamped ice cream cone and the sentiment from the Honeycomb Happiness Sale-a-bration set (#141288, p.15 SAB). I stamped the ice cream cone several times in Chocolate Chip, Pink Pirouette, and Crumb Cake ink and then cut out the scoops and added them on top of each other to create the three scoops on the card.

Well, there are just a few ideas for the Collage Stamping Technique. The ideas are endless and there are several stamp sets in the Annual and Occasions catalogs which are just perfect to achieve these wonderful collage backgrounds. Give it a try and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015-2016 Stampin' Up Catalog, 2016 Occasions Catalog, Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

