Sale-a-bration 2016: Honeycomb Happiness

Well, I’m back with another sampling of cards from the 2016 Sale-a-bration brochure, and today’s card features the Honeycomb Happiness stamp set. This is a fun outline stamp set with lots of potential for some cute cards and projects. They are designed to coordinate with the Honeycomb Embellishments (#140566, p.9 OC) in the 2016 Occasions catalog, however I made my cards without and they are still pretty cute.

IMG_7078

The first card was CASED from Jackie Bolhuis. I loved the idea of using the words as the background, and the mostly black and white card with just a pop of yellow. I really didn’t alter the card very much, but I did add a piece of Crushed Curry 1/8″ ribbon (retired). I stamped the chick and used a sponge dauber to add the Crushed Curry color to the chick. I wanted it to have a soft look and this seemed like a good way to achieve that. Then I cut out the chick with my paper snips and attached it to the card with stampin’ dimensionals.

IMG_7082

This card was CASED from Marelle Taylor. This card layout really caught my eye and the bright colors just seemed to make her cards feel very cheery and fun. I liked how she used the same template for all three images in this set AND that makes for some quick and easy card making!!  I used a Tempting Turquoise card base for my card, and added layers of Whisper White and Tempting Turquoise Designer Series Paper (#138434, p.144 AC). I cut a circle with my Circle Collection Framelits (#130911, p.173 AC) and stamped the image on the circle. I stamped the balloon again on a separate piece of white cardstock and used my sponge dauber again to color the balloon. This allowed me to have a soft, smooth, and highlighted coloring to the balloon. Then I cut out the balloon with my paper snips and attached it to the image on the circle cut-out with a glue pen. I used a Real Red marker to color the ribbon and embossed the words with White Embossing Powder on the black cardstock. I cut the words apart and added them to the card.

IMG_7081

This card was inspired by a card by Annette Elliott. I used her basic card layout, but altered it quite a bit. I liked how she use the Bokah Technique for her background, but I wanted to use more of a Collage Technique, so I used the Watercolor Wash background stamp (#138704, p.129 AC) and Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (#130514, p.123 AC) to achieve that. I used a Basic Gray card base, Whisper White card layer, and Rich Razzleberry ink. I added a Paper Doily (#129399, 148 AC), Washi Tape in Rich Razzleberry and Blackberry Bliss colors from the Bohemian Designer Washi Tape and the 2014-2016 In Color Washi Tape (#138386 & #138382, p.157 AC), a Basic Gray cardstock circle, and the sentiment on a Large Oval Punched (#119855, p.165 AC) piece of Whisper White cardstock. Finally, I stamped the ice cream cone on Watercolor Paper (#122959, p. AC) and used an Aquapainter to color the image.

IMG_7079

This last card was inspired by Jessica Williams. Again, I just took the basic idea of highlighting ONE ice cream cone from her card, but altered it to make it my own. I liked the idea of using the ice cream cone as the background stamping in just Black ink….Clean and Simple.IMG_7094

Then I stamped the ice cream cone several more times (actually 3 times) onto a piece of Whisper White cardstock. I used a blender pen and Mint Macaron and Crumb Cake ink to color the ice cream cones. Then I cut out 2 entire ice cream cones and 1 ice cream scoop and I layered them onto one of the background images with stampin’ dimensionals. This really makes the ice cream cone POP off the card. I added a banner with the sentiment, some Mint Macaron/Black Baker’s Twine (#140555, p.6 OC), a layer of Black cardstock and attached it all to a Mint Macaron card base.

These cards really have that “Happiness” feeling. What better way to celebrate Spring, than with ice cream, balloons, and chicks! This is just one more stamp set that can be earned for FREE during Sale-a-bration! Place your order of at least $50, and earn a FREE product until March 31st. Just click on the catalog on the sidebar to order. Happy Stampin!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 2015-2016 Stampin' Up Catalog, 2016 Occasions Catalog, 2016 Sale-a-bration, Cards, Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sale-a-bration 2016: Honeycomb Happiness

  1. mwheatley11 says:

    Really some great cards. Just love that Honeycomb Happiness stamp set.

    Maureen Wheatley

Leave a Reply

